Will I ever learn?!

 

You'd think I would have learned after my experience at the Lean Horse Hundred.

No way! I rested and then promptly started looking for my next ultra. A good place to start is Stan Jensen's Run 100s website. The best way to recover after a DNF is register for another one!

I found that on November 15th they will be running the Javelina Jundred in the desert outside of Phoenix. It is run on a 15 mile loop in McDowell Mountain Park. The Javelina Jundred is known for its party-like-atmosphere and has a reputaton for being a very friendly 100 mile ultra for first timers.

Other benefits include a 100-k "wimped out" award for those who do not make the full one hundred but go at least four loops.  There also are awards for Best Ass, Best Costume (male and female), First Virgin (first 100 mile completed at Javelina Jundred), Most Memorable Perfomance (called the 'Geri K'),  Top Team (best two person team), Youngest, Oldest and Dead Last.

If I am able to finish 100 miles, I think that the "Dead Last" award might just be for me!

There are only two cut-offs: 28 hours before starting the last 9 mile partial loop and 30 hours to complete the full 100 miles. Finishers after 30 hours will still get a posted "unofficial" time.

After running two marathons in two weeks as training, I feel ready.

Am I crazy? You bet!   Will I ever learn? Probably never!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

9 responses

  1. So, are you running at JJ100? I've heard really good things about that race. Great that you're hungry for another 100…. best of luck!!!

    October 12, 2008 at 5:28 am

  2. dude, you are a monster! i have to admit i'm pretty jealous of all the runs you've gotten to do this season. good luck on the JJ. it sounds like a fun event.

    October 14, 2008 at 1:59 pm

  3. I can't wait to see the pictures from this! Good luck!!

    October 14, 2008 at 6:09 pm

  4. Thanks! I am hungry to run but even more hungry for that first 100 mile finish!

    October 14, 2008 at 6:25 pm

  5. Thank you! It should be a good time no matter what happens. This'll be my last ultra of this year. I will take a couple of months off for some well-deserved rest but am already looking ahead to 2009. So many ultras… so little time!

    October 14, 2008 at 6:27 pm

  6. Thanks! The photos will be good, I hope the race report even better. I've decided that I cannot give up running these any time soon, they are such a great source of blog post material! Oh yeah, they're kind fun to run too!

    October 14, 2008 at 6:29 pm

  7. [esto es genial]

    October 14, 2008 at 10:04 pm

  8. There will always be next time! Have fun at Boulder this weekend!

    October 17, 2008 at 5:36 am

  9. No, you'll never learn – nor should you. I am impressed but it also sounds like lot of fun. I don't have your endurance but when I am really into biking (if anyone comes to the DC area, there are some great places to bike) I get up at 3:30 am to ride along the Potomac. I am not a morning person but it is so peaceful to do that before work.

    November 20, 2008 at 5:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers