Asics Gel Trail Sensors- Product Review

All of you ultrarunners and trail runners out there.. DO NOT… I repeat… DO NOT buy the Asics Gel Trail Sensors.

I purchased a pair of Asics Gel Trail Sensors as my most recent trail shoes.

I found them to be comfortable and with great traction off-road. They are unique in that they have a 4-pod heel. They looked great.

However,  part of the outer sole fell off on both shoes in the SAME run and in the SAME location on the sole. This was after less than 200 miles of use! There was not even any wear onto the sole and the other parts of the sole are already loose too! I consider this to be a serious design flaw.

I go through innumerable shoes per a year and because I am always trading them out at different times, I keep track of the mileage religiously to know when I need to think of getting new ones. Because I spend a lot of time in my shoes and go through a lot of them every year, I value performance over looks. Who care what your shoes look like when you are alone on the trail anyway? 

It is really annoying when a shoe falls apart like that. I shalll not be purchasing an Asics shoe again.

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

7 responses

  1. Trail shoes suck. It is a rare to find a good trail shoe. You're better off sticking to quality runnig shoe. Unless it's muddy there no difference.

    December 14, 2007 at 11:59 am

  2. I have run on trails in road shoes many times but don't like the slipping and sliding which happens when the terrain is anything other than dry and flat. Unfortunately, I do run quite often on trails in the rain, mud, snow and ice and need more traction. Plus, road shoes have less protection when you stub your toe on a rock. That hurts even with protection!
    I have heard some really good things about the line of trail and ultra shoes from Inov-8 and think that they will be my next purchase. Hopefully, I will have a good product review for them. The problem is that they make too many different types and it is difficult to know which to choose!

    December 14, 2007 at 12:22 pm

  3. Just curious.
    Where you live now do you "screw your shoes" for ice traction? I think I'd be better off simply finding a drier place to run…
    🙂

    December 14, 2007 at 12:33 pm

  4. I haven't started screwing my shoes for traction but then I haven't had any bad falls…lately. Finding a drier place to run would be smarter and safer but up north even the roads may have icy patches and snow for weeks at a time. I find it is too easy for me to make excuses to put off running, not including the weather, so I just make myself get out anyway no matter what the conditions. My family thinks I am crazy for running in a blizzard at 4 AM – they are probably right. However, no matter how bad the weather or conditions, so far I have not yet regretted getting out there and running, once I warmed up. However, if it is really bad then I will do something else such as X-country skiing or snowshoeing, I can always use some cross-training anyway.

    December 14, 2007 at 12:51 pm

  5. Forgot…Wisconsin in the winter time…If you want to run on trails you will be on snow stuff. My favorite hat is an Inov-8 hat. I got it as a door prize at the Clinton lake 30 miler last year. I would say in the winter you would probably have to have a shoe with more traction. Us southerners forget sometimes. I know how bad it is running up at my in-laws in the winter time.

    December 14, 2007 at 1:28 pm

  6. I was looking at this shoe for my first pair of trail runners. I'm glad I came across your post.

    December 15, 2007 at 5:02 pm

  7. you're right, they certainly do look nice. I used a pair of Nike shox for about 2 years before they came apart.

    February 25, 2008 at 7:30 pm

Leave a Reply

