100 miles- Will I be able to do it?

 

 

Well, I did it. 

I officially registered for the Lean Horse Hundred. After having a "good" DNF at Kettle Moraine 100k, I felt ready to tackle something longer, tougher, and harder. I have always wanted to try 100 miles.

Why not this year? 

The Lean Hundred and Half-Hundred are run literally in my backyard. The race starts in Hot Springs and goes 11 miles to the George Mickelson Trail. From there, it goes up the trail to just south of Hill City before the runners turn around and head back to the start.

I am hoping that my best friend Haliku will be able to make it up here to pace me in the latter half of the race.

Will I be able to do it? I guess I shall find out on August 23/24th.

It's too late to back out now!

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

6 responses

  1. I think it's great to do a race from home, you're familiar with the weather, maybe even some of the route. best wishes for success!

    July 1, 2008 at 5:43 pm

  2. Thanks! The route is familiar to me so I hope that will be to my advantage. This past weekend, I ran 52 miles over 17 hours, 22 minutes outside Laramie at 8300 – 8800 ft elevation (I still have to get that race report posted). I definitely feel ready to move up in distance. I have no idea how I will do running 100 miles but there is no way to know unless I try.

    July 1, 2008 at 6:24 pm

  3. Good luck at Lean Horse! Looks like good weather is in store…the close to home races are good ones to start on.

    July 2, 2008 at 8:12 am

  4. Thank you! I hope so!

    July 2, 2008 at 5:43 pm

  5. The answer is YES!!

    July 21, 2008 at 7:16 pm

  6. Thanks!!!
    My legs are still a bit heavy and sluggish after my run at Laramie. I still have a month to go so I should be OK, as long as I don't go too slow and get pulled because of missing a cut-off.

    July 21, 2008 at 7:22 pm

Leave a Reply

