Movie Review: “The Long Run” (2000)

There is no better way to get psyched up for a race than to watch a running movie. This coming weekend I will be doing Strolling Jim 40 miles in Tennessee. It'll just be a training run before my main spring race: Bighorn 50-m in mid-June. My left ITB is still a bit tight after Antelope Island Buffalo 50-m so I'm going to take it easy.

On the advice of an ultrarunning friend, I recently acquired "The Long Run." It is available from ZombieRunner.

The Long Run

This movie is about the Comrades Marathon a 90-k race in South Africa, the largest ultramarathon in the world by number of entrants (12,000+). The movie is about an aging running coach, a Namibian female runner and the complex relationship that develops between them. Although the movie was slow at times, I thoroughly enjoyed footage of the location and 1999 race.

It amazes me the number of runners and large crowds cheering on the Comrades participants. All of the ultras I have ever run in have had at most a couple of hundred runners along with a few dozen volunteers and family members on the sidelines. Though I enjoy the small informal non-commercialized atmosphere of most races I do, a large event like this might be fun to do too.  

Not this year nor the next but someday, I'd like to do Comrades.

Anyone care to join me? 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

One response

  1. Ani

    Oh my. Watching the trailer gave me serious goosebumps.I will be there!!

    April 28, 2009 at 12:41 pm

Leave a Reply

