Only 3 days left!

In only three days I will be running the Bighorn Wild and Scenic 50 mile trail race!  I'm so excited!

The Bighorns are among my favorite mountain ranges. Above are photos taken from last years 2008 Bighorn Ultra at the Dry Fork Aid Station (turn on the sound).  I'm looking forward to seeing this scenery for myself. 

Us 50 milers have 15 hours max to finish the distance- and I plan on using every minute of it. At 18:00 min/mile as the slowest possible overall pace, it will be perfect training for my next hundred miler in August.

Why rush when you can go slow and enjoy the scenery?

Slow hurts a LOT less too!

 

These last few days I will focus on not stressing out too much at work, preparing my drop bags, gathering my gear, getting a good night's rest every night,  and RELAX-ing (always easier to say than do).  Oh yes and my favorite part of any pre-race taper: CALORIE-loading. Carbs are great but carb-loading is for short distance runners (marathon and less).

Now that I have several 50 milers under my belt, I'm much less apprehensive than I have been before such races in the past.

After all, this will only be 50 miles!   A nice training run.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

8 responses

  1. Tom,

    June 17, 2009 at 6:28 am

  2. I mean pictures, not video!

    June 17, 2009 at 6:36 am

  3. Good Luck! We'll be rooting for you down here! The trophy room looks great!

    June 17, 2009 at 11:59 am

  4. Thanks!

    June 17, 2009 at 6:12 pm

  5. Good luck bro! I wish I was running it with you. At this point a 4 miler feels like a 20 miler so I have some conditioning to reacquire. See you soon.

    June 17, 2009 at 7:37 pm

  6. Thanks… I wish you were coming too. You certainly have an excuse. Maybe the Bighorn 100 next year?

    June 18, 2009 at 9:21 pm

  7. A pink sparkly boa…You should be easy to spot. I'll keep my eyes open for you…

    June 18, 2009 at 9:25 pm

  8. Had to scrap the pink boa, couldn't affix it properly. I'll be the crazed one, wearing the wonder woman costume for the last 6 miles.

    June 19, 2009 at 6:14 am

Leave a Reply

