My Christmas Present

 

I have been playing the Native American Flute now for over twenty years. I already have several flutes but have wanted a "low" or "bass" flute for a few years.

This Christmas Jeanne and Nathan surprised me!

It was made by a local flute maker located only 4 or 5 miles from our cabin: Tatanka Spirit Flutes. It is built out of walnut in key of low D with a buffalo fetish.  Jeanne left her coat when she went to pick up the flute. When she returned to get her coat, she had to take quite a detour. On the same day I was doing my recent 24 mile run on the road past the flutemaker's house and she did not want to explain why she drove past me that afternoon.

The poor quality of this video does not do the beautiful resonance of this flute any justice at all. I recorded this song this afternoon on our deck overlooking the Black Hills.

Note the curious nuthatch flitting about in the tree behind me.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 responses

  1. Congrats on your new flute! How cool! I read your dog post below. I know that dog. I've had the "pleasure" of making its acquaintance before myself. There are a few others to be wary of as well. I usually have Lena with me (the BIG black shepherd) and she keeps them away, but I get very miffed at people who let their dogs run like that. Looks like we are in for a few cold days! Maybe the frozen "buddy" will make his way back. LOL. I had one of those myself while running last week — lovely picture I am sure I made. 🙂

    January 4, 2010 at 5:57 pm

  2. Thanks! I LOVE my new flute!!! Fortunately, Jeanne likes it too!!!
    Yep, I've had encounters with various canines over the years. That's why I now carry a large pepper spray- the kind hikers use for grizzly bears. I don't know how well it would work against a bear but it sure stops a dog or pack of dogs in their tracks.
    I'm looking forward to warmer days this weekend. I'll be doing another 20 or 30 mile plus long run again this weekend. 3 Days of Sylammo is coming up in mid-March. Running a multi-day stage race will be a new experience for me.

    January 8, 2010 at 7:22 pm

  3. Hey, that was great! Very enchanting and soothing.

    January 9, 2010 at 5:00 pm

  4. Thank you!!!

    January 9, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Leave a Reply

