Oh my! What beautiful eyes you have!

 

Last week, I needed to put in a twenty mile run.

With my strep throat and recent travels for business, I haven't been able put in any long runs over the past couple of weekends. It is difficult finding time to go long  during the week; there are only so many hours in the day.

So I got up at 3:30 AM to put in 10 miles.

As I ran by starlight and my headlamp, I was serenaded by our local coyotes. This time of year the coyotes start pairing off and determine territories. They certainly put on quite a show for me for the entire 2 hours. At one point they were so close I could hear their feet as the ran over the hard crust of snow. Wild song dogs!

Then, I got off work early and  put in another ten mile run so I would have a total of twenty miles for that day. Putting in AM and PM double day runs allows you to put in your mileage in way that is a little more friendly towards one's schedule.

I don't do double days runs because I like it. I am certainly not a running addict (yes,I know how crazy that sounds coming from an ultramarathoner). There are many other things I'd rather do than run twice a day or get up to run at 3:30 AM in a cold, dark Feburary morning. However, I do know that if I am to continue to  run ultras without injury, I must put in the training. Sometimes, AM and PM runs are the only way to do that, especially on a week day.

I could hear coyotes during the  evening run but they were not as close or as vocal as they were that morning. About 2.5 miles from home, sudddenly I saw the brightest red-orange eyes glowing in the light of my headlamp. I'm used to seeing animal eyes reflect in my light. I can recognize what deer, rabbit, horse, domestic house cat, skunk and even wolf-spider eyes look like when reflected in my light.

But these eyes were different. They were larger and brighter than any I've ever seen before. It was if they were lit from behind by their own light source. I walked off the road and into the pines to get a better look at what they were.

As I approached, I could see it was definitely not a deer. The back was round and the neck too short. Then it got up and I knew exactly what it was. A silouette of a long tail stretched out behind it.

It was a cougar!  

Many of our neighbors and acquaintances have seen mountain lions but until now, not me. Some have even seen them peering in their windows and sitting on their decks (the two photos on the left are from a friend in Wyoming). 

I've seen the tracks and heard the screams of mountain lions but never seen a live one in person. It always surprises me how many others can be so lucky so often.

If anyone were going to see a mountain lion, wouldn't you expect it to be someone who spends many hours running on trails, at night and in the early morning?

Apparently me staring at her with my bright headlamp and then walking towards her, made her uncomfortable. She got up and cooly, non-chalantly, walked off slowly as only a cat could do. It was as if she was trying to say, "I don't like you

coming towards me but I'm really not afraid of you."

I waited until I could no longer see her before I turned to move away myself. I looked behind me and watched my back trail often to make sure she didn't try to follow.

When many people sight a mountain lion, they claim they are huge. This one I didn't think was all that big. Based on comparison to dogs which I know the size of, I'd estimate that maybe she could have only been 70-90 lbs at most, perhaps smaller.

I swear that I saw some dappling on her coat, which if it was true, means she was a kitten. Of course it was hard to see int he dark, even with my head lamp, so that might have been my imagination.

Still, even if she wasn't all that big, I wouldn't want her stalking me without me knowing about it!

What a great experience. I love living here!

The 3 Days of Syllamo are coming up in less than two weeks. Am I ready? As ready as I could be but running a multi-day stage race is a new experience for me so I do not know what to expect. I'm planning on doing the first 50-k stage very conservatively (ie hike most of it). Then I'll make sure I calorie re-load that evening before attempting the 50-mile stage the following day.

As for the 20-k stage on Sunday? If I'm still walking and not injured, I'll do it however I can. I'll even crawl if I have to. However it goes, it'll be  a great early season training adventure.

Finally, in case any of you are questioning my sanity: I wouldn't ordinarily walk up to a cougar in the dark. 

I just couldn't pass up finding out whose those bright beautiful red eyes those were.   I happened to be carrying some protection in my fanny pack which gave me extra confidence. Had I not had that with me, I would've stayed on the road and  wondered about what I'd seen. 

Run on- but watch for big red eyes reflecting in your headlamp!  

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

15 responses

  1. [esto es genial]

    March 2, 2010 at 11:07 pm

  2. Thanks! Maybe next time you visit we can find another one?

    March 3, 2010 at 7:44 pm

  3. Wow! I have yet to see one myself. Glad you are feeling better. Strep throat is the WORST. Luckily the family has stayed pretty germ-free this year, I think the homeschooling thing keeps us from dragging every bug known to man home from the classroom. Either that or the kombucha is doing its job.Good luck on the run!

    March 4, 2010 at 8:47 am

  4. I've seen a cougar during a 50 mile race. Thought noone would believe me, but some of the race leaders saw it also. By its actions I think it was hanging around trying to figure out if we runners were prey or threat. But when I faced it squarely and didn't run, it took off. It's good you know to watch your back, as they prefer to take down prey from behind.
    Wish I could join you at Syllamo. I'm still planning on being at Lean Horse, though. Have a great race. Dave

    March 15, 2010 at 2:06 am

  5. Syllamo was a great race. I have a story to tell (but don't I always?) which I'll write up this weekend once I'm fully rested.
    So you're going to Lean Horse? Great! I will be there! This year will be my year!
    Take care and run well!

    March 15, 2010 at 4:39 pm

  6. Enjoyed reading you blog today (located it via your leanhorse 100 entry on that web site).

    March 20, 2010 at 3:42 pm

  7. Hello! I enjoyed reading you blog today (located it via your leanhorse 100 entry on that web site). I'm considering running leanhorse this year, depending on how my running continues to progress. I live south of Deadwood, been running Highway 385 until the trails clear off. Lot's of cougars up here, but I've yet to see one. (I'm sure they've seen me!)
    Mike

    March 20, 2010 at 3:51 pm

  8. Hey thanks Mike!
    I too am ready to get out on those single tracks. Running in Arkansas last weekend has sure given me spring trail running fever.
    Are you going to run Lean Horse this year? I'll be there.

    March 20, 2010 at 7:34 pm

  9. I've never ran an ultra before. In fact, I didn't run much last year either. But I've set my sights on lean horse in January and have been putting in 40-50 miles/week so far. I did 18/10 on Fri/Sat and it felt really good. So I hope to keep building up the endurance and make a final decision after the DWMT Marathon in June. (I've signed up to run the 1/2 with my wife.)
    Hope to see you at Lean Horse if all goes as planned!Mike

    March 22, 2010 at 1:21 pm

  10. You can do it! Yes you CAN!
    7 years ago I was so overweight and out of shape, I couldn't even run a half-mile without having to stop to catch my breath. But with training and perserverance, I improved my fitness and ran my first ultra, a 50-k trail race, even before I did my first "official" 26.2m marathon.
    What a let-down to do my first 26.2m after I had done a few 50k's and 50m's! It felt like literally only "half a race." Now, I still like 26.2m's and 50k's; they make nice "training runs."
    There is plenty of time to prepare. Take your time to build your endurance, don't get injured and don't give up. You can do it and you will!
    I look forward to seeing you at Lean Horse!

    March 22, 2010 at 7:46 pm

  11. Thanks for the encouragement. If I can stick to the plan I will be there!

    March 22, 2010 at 9:15 pm

  12. Guess since a marathon is only half a race that leaves you plenty of energy to work on the speed part huh? šŸ™‚

    April 4, 2010 at 10:29 pm

  13. Hah! You are so right!

    April 5, 2010 at 6:59 pm

  14. mary biniol

    The area you’re staying, it must be a beautiful, btw what kind of protection do you carry? What If it is a big tiger and pounce at you before your able to take your protection form your bag, hehe ayway all the best on your run..nice blog

    February 19, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    • Well, I carry large can of pepper spray…the kind they use for bears. And then something else in casethat fails… let’s just say it’s something a little bit more lethal than pepper spray.

      April 22, 2012 at 11:34 am

Leave a Reply

