Land of the Midnight Sun

It's 12:04 AM- just past midnight in Anchorage, Alaska. Here is the view tonight from our hotel room overlooking Cook Inlet.  

We just spent 11 days exploring the south-central portion of the state. Despite all that we've done, we have barely touched on all there is to see.

Tomorrow we fly home. Although we're looking forward to coming home- we will miss this place for which there are no words to describe. As someone who speaks and writes for a living- not being able to find the right words says much.

I still haven't even posted about Greenland 50-k or the long training run I did in the Black Elk Wilderness right before leaving for our trip.

I shall not think about all the work piled up on my desk waiting for me- those worries can wait until Tuesday. 

Alaska is known as "The Last Frontier" and "The Land of the Midnight Sun," as you can see from the photo above- it is true. The sun does shine almost all night, and we're not even at summer solstice yet.

If I didn't love where I live and my job and the colleagues I have now as much as I do…. Alaska would be where we  would live next….as dark and cold as it can get in the winter.

We cannot wait to come back here, whenever that will be…

More photos and posts to come…

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 responses

  1. I've always wanted to experience Alaska (In summer time) but I seem to have a lot of want to go places and a need to save the cash for retirement. I guess my goal should be to run a lot and keep myself in shape for retirement!

    May 29, 2010 at 6:35 am

  2. Friends, acquaintances and family have advised coming up to Alaska for years. As someone who loves the outdoors and the quiet wild places, this is heaven. I wonder what took us so long to get up here.
    I love the people here. They respect and cherish those who are self-reliant, individualistic, and even those who are quirky and a bit eccentric- like I am!
    Running trails here would make me a little bit nervous, with the bears and all. However, back home, I run where there are lots of mountain lions and got over that. I just run cautiously and always pay attention to my surroundings. You should do that always anyway, no matter where you run. Often the city can be as dangerous as the wilderness.
    Oh that, and carrying protection that you know how to use would help too (but you can't do that in most cities).
    Yes, staying fit is as an important goal in preparing for retirement as is saving up financially. I have seen too many who saved and invested wisely but then ended up too ill to enjoy the fruits of their labors. All the money they saved was used up in medical expenses.
    It's sad. I'm sure you've seen plenty of these folks too.

    May 29, 2010 at 12:43 pm

  3. Glad you had a fun trip. Now you see why I loved it up there so much last year. Don't know why it took me that long either! Safe travels.

    May 30, 2010 at 8:02 am

  4. After flying all night, we're actually in the Denver Airport right now waiting for our connection to Rapid City.
    Although we're looking forward to getting home, sleeping in our own beds and seeing our critters- we cannot wait until we can return.
    I have friends in Fairbanks and in Anchorage- now we have no excuse to not come back. None whatsoever.

    May 30, 2010 at 8:57 am

Leave a Reply

