4th Annual Oktoberfest 2012

Yesterday we had our 4th annual Oktoberfest party. Every year it seems to get bigger. We invited friends, family, co-workers and neighbors to celebrate our European heritage. We had 99 people sign our guestbook; I assume there were probably a few who didn’t.

I have been an avid homebrewer for years. I enjoy the creative aspects of developing a new recipe and the challenge of trying to emulate a style I haven’t brewed before.

Brewing for me is as much a form of artistic creative expression as is playing my musical instruments or any other art.

This year at our local homebrew competition the Rapid City Bierborse,  I won a total of 6 medals.  I received 1st place lager for my Doppelbock, was awarded 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the Belgian category for my Saison, Belgian Quadrupel and Belgian wit respectively. Then I got 2nd and 3rd place meads for my Rosehip Rhodomel and Elderberry Melomel respectively.

I was surprised. I had been only hoping, oh, maybe for only one or or two medals.

Most unfortunately I had to be out of town for work. I wasn’t even able to be there to accept any of my medals in person.

I admit that as I was winning the medals back in South Dakota, I was celebrating by sampling various craft beers of San Diego and was getting a tour of White Labs, a well-known producer of  yeasts used in commercial and homebrewing.

Oh well.

At least my beers and meads were able to be there for the judging the week before. I suppose that’s what matters. I hope I can attend in person next year.

Since I seem to have the brewing process figured out, perhaps I should volunteer next year as a judge?

I enjoy making beer even more than I do drinking it. I brew more beer every year than I could ever consume. Fortunately, I have friends who enjoy consuming it for me.

You could say it’s a perfect symbiotic relationship!

We again served traditional German food. I got up early Saturday morning to build the cooking fire. Then I slow roasted Schweinbraten (Pork Roasts) over hardwood coals for 10 hours.  The meat was encrusted in a German mustard sauce. We served other foods too including Rotkraut and Kartoffelsalat- as well as a variety of delicious dishes brought by some of our guests.

Texas may have a reputation for being the center of deep pit barbeque in the US but the reality is that there was no barbeque in Texas as we know it- until it was introduced there by German immigrants.

This year we put up a green screen so that we could take photos of guests and then photo shop in backgrounds from Germany. The kids especially had fun dressing up in various costumes we had available.

Oktoberfest 2013 is only a year away!

We are already thinking of what we might add next year. An outside beer tent? A roast suckling pig? A strolling accordian player to play polkas?

Jah voll!

 

One response

  1. Wowee, that looks like a fun party! I’m deep in the middle of training…and dreaming of partying it up in taper week!!!! http://30weeks.wordpress.com

    October 14, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Leave a Reply

