A Perfect Autumn Breakfast…

Autumn Breakfast

I haven’t posted anything for months and months.

I’ve been extremely busy with work. In my spare time I’ve been busy planting, weeding and harvesting our vegetable garden, finishing a chicken house for our fifty new pullets, constructing a duck house/tool shed in the garden, working with our honeybees and practicing new songs on my fiddle…

I haven’t had much time to run, but that will change soon. This is an ultrarunning blog after all.

After spending all week in front of a computer at the office, the last thing I’ve wanted to do is sit in front of the computer writing a post when I could be outside actually doing something instead.

This morning I enjoyed the perfect homegrown Autumn breakfast:

Homemade yogurt made from home-produced milk from our dairy cow, Mariah.

Sweetened with honey from our own honeybees…

Then topped with delicious juicy-tart raspberries picked from our garden…

Breakfast can’t get much better than that.

 

4 responses

  1. Always good to hear from you my friend. Can not wait for you to beign putting in some miles, if you want to. I’m finally reaching higher miles myself, and wandering through the vageries of workouts workout buddies and life in general!
    Your raspberries look really rather FANtastic…

    September 28, 2013 at 12:05 pm

  2. Thanks and great to hear from you. I really miss running… most especially all of my crazy-ultrarunning friends that I see at races. But even though I haven’t been running much as of late, I’ve been busy with many other things. Take care, be well and run well.

    September 29, 2013 at 11:27 am

  3. What kind of a cow did you get?

    September 30, 2013 at 7:33 am

    • We got a Jersey! Mariah is such a sweetie, she’s not very large in size but her milk is rich and full of butterfat. We’re sharing the milk with her calf… really how much milk do we really need? Plus with a calf, if we don’t feel like milking for a day… no problem, she won’t dry up or anything.

      We get enough milk for yogurt and cheese every week. Jeanne milks and I make the cheese. So far, I’ve made Lebneh (a salted Lebanese cheese made from strained and pressed yogurt… somewhat like a feta but more flavorful and less salty), mozzarella, two types of cheddar (farmhouse cheddar and traditional hard cheddar), blue cheese and parmesan.

      The hardest part? Waiting for the cheddar, blue and parmesan to age and be ready to eat!!

      October 1, 2013 at 9:02 pm

Leave a Reply

